AMK Resource World

Competition Cosmos



CLICK & JOIN

Indian National Congress (INC)

Founded in 1885 under the guidance of British civil servant Allan Octavian Hume, the Indian National Congress (INC), popularly known as the Congress, is the country's oldest political party. Today it is one of the two major national political parties, other being the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and operates on the ideology of Gandhian Socialism and Social Democracy.

Members of the Theosophical Society, namely Dadabhai Naoroji, Surendranath Banerjee, M.G. Ranade, Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee, Dinshaw Wacha, Monomohun Ghose and William Wedderburn, headed by A.O. Hume, established the Indian National Congress to obtain greater share of Indians in the British government,

Jawaharlal Nehru became the sole undisputed head of the INC in independent India. His daughter Indira Gandhi became his political successor.

The Election Symbol of the Congress party, as approved by the Election Commission of India, is the "right hand", with its palm-side facing front.

It is usually seen in the centre of an Indian flag, which forms its background. The fingers of the hand are pressed together. This election symbol is significant as it was selected by the Indira Gandhi-led Congress

The Indian National Congress conducted its first session in Bombay from 28 to 31 December 1885 at the initiative of retired Civil Service officer Allan Octavian Hume. In 1883, Hume had outlined his idea for a body representing Indian interests in an open letter to graduates of the University of Calcutta

Sessions & President

Year	Location	President
1885	Bombay	W C Bonnerjee
1886	Calcutta	Dadabhai Naoroji
1887	Madras	Syed Badruddin Tyabji

SUBSCRIBE Website <u>www.amkresourceinfo.com</u> by Clicking Bell Icon for latest updates

1888	Allahabad	George Yule
1889	Bombay	Sir William Wedderburn
1890	Calcutta	Feroz Shah Mehta
1891	Nagpur	P. Ananda Charlu
1892	Allahabad	W C Bonnerjee
1893	Lahore	Dadabhai Naoroji
1894	Madras	Alfred Webb
1895	Poona	Surendranath Banerjee
1896	Calcutta	Rahimtullah M. Sayani
1897	Amravati	C. Sankaran Nair
1898	Madras	Ananda Mohan Bose
1899	Lucknow	Romesh Chandra Dutt
1900	Lahore	N G Chandavarkar
1901	Calcutta	Dinshaw E. Wacha
1902	Ahmedabad	Surendranath Banerjee
1903	Madras	Lal Mohan Ghosh
1904	Bombay	Sir Henry Cotton
1905	Benares	Gopal Krishna Gokhale
1906	Calcu <mark>t</mark> ta	Dadabhai Naoroji
1907	Sura <mark>t</mark>	Rash Behari Ghosh
1908	Madras	Rash Behari Ghosh
1909	Lahore	Madan Mohan Malaviya
1910	Allah <mark>a</mark> bad	Sir William Wedderburn
1911	Calcu <mark>tt</mark> a	Bishan Narayan Dhar
1912	Bankip <mark>o</mark> re (Patna)	Raghunath Narasinha Mu <mark>d</mark> holkar
1913	Karachi	Syed Mohammed
1914	Madras	Bhupendra Nath Basu
1915	Bombay	Satyendra Prasanna Sinha
1916	Lucknow	Ambica Charan Mazumdar
1917	Calcutta	<u>Annie Besant (1847 – 1933)</u>
1918	Bombay And Delhi	Syed Hasan Imam (Bombay) And Madan
		Mohan Malaviya (Delhi)
1919	Amritsar	Motilal Nehru
1920	Nagpur	C Vijayaraghavachariar
1921	Ahmedabad	Hakim Ajmal Khan (acting President For C R
		Das)
1922	Gaya	C R Das
1923	Kakinada	Maulana Mohammad Ali,

1924	Belgaum	M K Gandhi
1925	Kanpur	<u>Sarojini Naidu (1879 – 1949)</u>
1926	Guwahati	S Srinivasa Iyengar
1927	Madras	M A Ansari
1928	Calcutta	Motilal Nehru
1929	Lahore	Jawaharlal Nehru
1930	No Session	-
1931	Karachi	Vallabhbhai Patel
1932	Delhi	Amrit Ranchhorddas Seth
1933	Calcutta	Malaviya Was Elected But Mrs Nellie
		Sengupta Presided
1934	Bombay	Rajendra Prasad
1937	Lucknow	Jawaharlal Nehru
1936	Faizpur	Jawaharlal Nehru
1938	Haripura	Subhas Chandra Bose
1939	Tripuri	Subhas Chandra Bose
1940	Ramgar <mark>h</mark>	Abul Kalam Azad
1941-45	-	-
1946	Meer <mark>u</mark> t	Acharya Kripalani
1948	Jaip <mark>u</mark> r	Pattabhi Sitaramayya
1950	Nash <mark>i</mark> k	Purushottam Das Tandon
1951	Delh <mark>i</mark>	Jawaharlal Nehru
1953	Hyde <mark>r</mark> abad	Jawaharlal Nehru
1954	Kalya <mark>n</mark> i	Jawaharlal Nehru
1955	Avadi(madras)	U. N. Dhebar
1956	Amritsar	U. N. Dhebar
1958	Gauhati	U. N. Dhebar
1959	Nagpur	Indira Gandhi
1960	Bangalore	Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy
1001		
1961	Bhavnagar	Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy
1962	Bhavnagar Bhubaneshwar	Damodaran Sanjvayya
1962 1963	Bhubaneshwar Patna	
1962	Bhubaneshwar	Damodaran Sanjvayya

SUBSCRIBE Website <u>www.amkresourceinfo.com</u> by Clicking Bell Icon for latest updates

Election symbol		
Founded on	1885, 132 years ago	
Founder	British civil servant Allan Octavian Hume	
Parliamentary Chairperson	Sonia Gandhi	
President of INC	Rahul Gandhi	
Leader of INC in the 16th Lok Sabha	Mallikarjun Kharge	
Last Prime Minister	Manmohan Singh	
Political Position	Centre-left	
Philosophy	Indian Nationalism (Liberal nationalism), Social democracy, Democratic socialism, Gandhian socialism, Progressivism	
Alliance	United Progressive Alliance (UPA)	
Party type	National Party	
Student Wing	National Students Union of India (NSUI)	
Labour Wing	Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC)	
	Resource World	



SUBSCRIBE Website <u>www.amkresourceinfo.com</u> by Clicking Bell Icon for latest updates