AMK Resource World

Competition Cosmos

Governors of Reserve Bank of India

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) is the highest monetary authority of India. Since its establishment in 1935, by the British colonial government, 25 people have worked as the Governor of the Reserve Bank of India so far.

The first Governor of the Reserve Bank of India was British banker Osborn Smith, while C.D. Deshmukh was the first Indian Governor of Reserve Bank of India. At present, the Governor of Reserve Bank of India is Shashikant Das, who took charge on 12 Dec. 2018.

The Governor of Reserve Bank of India is the Chief Executive Officer of the Central Bank of India and the Ex-officio Chairman of its Central Board of Directors. The Indian note issued by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) is signed by the Governor of the Reserve Bank of India.

The person who worked as the Governor of Reserve Bank of India for the longest time (total of 7 years, 197 day) was Benegal Rama Rao. He was on his post from July 1, 1949 to January 14, 1957.

The person who worked for the shortest time as the Governor of the Reserve Bank of India was Amitabh Ghosh. He was employed for a total of 20 days from 15 January 1985 to 4 February 1985.

LIST OF GOVERNORS OF RESERVE BANK OF INDIA

S.N.	Governor Name	Tenure
1.	Osborne Smith	April 1, 1935 to June 30, 1937
2.	James Brend Taylor	July 1, 1937 to February 17, 1943
3.	C. D. Deshmukh	August 11, 1943 to June 30, 1949
4.	Benegal Rama Rao	July 1, 1949 to 14 January 1957
5.	K. G. Amgaonkar	January 14, 1957 to 28 February 1957
6.	H. V. R. Iyengar	March 1, 1957 to February 28, 1962
7.	P. C. Bhattacharya	March 1, 1962 to June 30, 1967
8.	L. K. Jha	July 1, 1967 to May 3, 1970
9.	B. N. Adarakar	May 4, 1970 to June 15, 1970

10.	S. Jagannathan	June 16, 1970 to May 19, 1975
11.	N. C. Sen Gupta	May 19, 1975 to 19th August, 1975
12.	K. R. Puri	August 20, 1975 to May 2, 1977
13.	M. Narasimhan	May 3, 1977 to November 30, 1977
14.	I.G. Patel	December 1, 1977 to 15 September, 1982
15.	Manmohan Singh	September 16, 1982 to 14 January 1985
16.	Amitabh Ghosh	January 15, 1985 to 4th February, 1985
17.	R. N. Malhotra	February 4, 1985 to December 22, 1990
18.	S. Venkatraman	December 22, 1990 to December 21, 1992
19.	C. Rangarajan	December 22, 1992 to November 21, 1997
20.	Bimal Jalan	November 22, 1997 to September 6, 2003
21.	y. V. Reddy	September 6, 2003 to September 5, 2008
22.	D. Subbarao	September 5, 2008 to September 4, 2013
23.	Raghuram Rajan	September 4, 2013 to September 4, 2016
24.	Urjit Patel	September 4, 2016 to 11 Dec.2018
25.	Shashikant Das	From 12 Dec.2018

VISIT & GET

- Job NEWS
- <u>Latest Education Updates</u>
- Scholarship News
- Circulars
- Exam Results
- School NEWS
- Exam Key Answers
- Daily Newspapers
- Exam Admit Cards
- Admission NEWS

