





GENERAL KNOWLEDGE





Dronacharya Awards

Book for Various Competitive Exams

(Like KPSC technical Post C, KSRTC, PDO, RRB, SSC, FDAA, SDAA, PSI, PC, CET, etc..)



















Dronacharya Awards

The Dronacharya Award, officially known as Dronacharya Award for Outstanding Coaches in Sports and Games, is sports coaching honour of the Republic of India. The award is named after Drona, often referred as "Dronacharya" or "Guru Drona", a character from the Sanskrit epic *Mahabharata* of ancient India.

He was master of advanced military warfare and was appointed as the royal preceptor to the Kaurava and the Pandavaprinces for their training in military arts and astras (Divine weapons). It is awarded annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. Recipients are selected by a committee constituted by the Ministry and are honoured to have done "outstanding and meritorious work on a consistent basis and enabled sportspersons to excel in international events" over a period of four years. Two awards are designated for the lifetime contribution in coaching where the achievements in producing "outstanding sportspersons" over a period of 20 years or more are considered. As of 2017, the award comprises a bronze statuette of Dronacharya, a certificate, ceremonial dress, and a cash prize of ₹5 lakh (US\$7,700).

Instituted in 1985, the award is given only to the disciplines included in the events like Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, World Championship and World Cup along with Cricket, Indigenous Games, and Parasports. The nominations for a given year are accepted till 30 April or last working day of April. A tenmember committee evaluates the nominations and later submits their recommendations to the Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports for further approval.

The first recipients of the award were Bhalachandra Bhaskar Bhagwat (Wrestling), Om Prakash Bhardwaj (Boxing), and O. M. Nambiar (Athletics), who were honoured in

1985.^[5] Usually conferred upon not more than five coaches in a year, a few exceptions have been made (2012 and 2016–17) when more recipients were awarded in a year. The most recent recipients of the award are R. Gandhi (Athletics), Heera Nand Kataria (Kabaddi) along with G. S. S. V. Prasad (Badminton), Brij Bhushan Mohanty (Boxing), P. A. Raphel (Hockey), Sanjoy Chakraverty (Shooting), and Roshan Lal (Wrestling) who were honoured for their lifetime contribution

List of recipients

Year	Recipient(s)	Discipline(s)	
1985	Bhalachandra Bhaskar Bhagwat	Wrestling	
1985	Om Prakash Bhardwaj	Boxing	
1985	O. M. Nambiar	Athletics	
1986	Desh Prem Azad	Cricket	
1986	Raghunandan Vasant Gokhle	Chess	
1987	Guru Hanuman	Wrestling	
1987	Gurcharan Singh	Cricket	
1988	No award		
1989	No award		
1990	Ramakant Achrekar	Cricket	
1990	Syed Naeemuddin	Football	
1990	A. Ramana Rao	Volleyball	
1991	No award		
1992	No award		
1993	No award		
1994	Ilyas Babar	Athletics	
1995	Shyam Sunder Rao	Volleyball	
1995	Karan Singh	Athletics	
1996	Wilson Jones	Billiards & Snooker	
1996	Pal Singh Sandhu	Weightlifting	
1997	Joginder Singh Saini	Athletics	
1998	G. S. Sandhu	Boxing	
1998	Hargobind Singh Sandhu	Athletics	
1998	Bahadur Singh Chouhan	Athletics	

A M K RESOURCE WORLD

1999	Kenneth Owen Bosen	Athletics
1999	Hawa Singh	Boxing
1999	Ajay Kumar Sirohi	Weightlifting
2000	S. M. Arif	Badminton
2000	Gudial Singh Bhangu	Hockey
2000	Bhupender Dhawan	Powerlifting
2000	Gopal Purushottam Phadke	Kho kho
2000	Hansa Sharma	Weightlifting
2001	Michael Ferreira	Billiards & Snooker
2001	Sunny Thomas	Shooting
2002	Maharaj Krishan Kaushik	Hockey
2002	Renu Kohli	Athletics
2002	Homi Motivala	Yachting
2002	E. Prasad Rao	Kabaddi
2002	Jaswant Singh	Athletics
2003	Sukhchain Singh Cheema	Wrestling
2003	Robert Bobby George	Athletics
2003	Anoop Kumar	Boxing
2003	Rajinder Singh Jr.	Hockey
2004	Cyrus Poncha	Squash
2004	Arvind Savur	Billiards & Snooker
2004	Sunita Sharma	Cricket
2005	Ismail Baig	Rowing
2005	Maha Singh Rao	Wrestling
2005	Balwan Singh	Kabaddi
2005	M. Venu	Boxing
2006	Koneru Ashok	Chess
2006	Damodaran Chandralal	Boxing
2006	R. D. Singh	Athletics
2007	Jagdish Singh	Boxing
2007	Jagminder Singh	Wrestling
2007	Sanjeeva Kumar Singh	Archery
2007	G. E. Sridharan	Volleyball
2008	No award	
2009	Jaydev Bisht	Boxing

A M K RESOURCE WORLD

2009	Pullela Gopichand	Badminton
2009	S. Baldev Singh	Hockey
2009	Satpal Singh	Wrestling
2010	Subhash Agarwal	Billiards & Snooker
2010	Ajay Kumar Bansal	Hockey
2010	Captain Chandrup	Wrestling
2010	A. K. Kutty	Athletics
2010	L Ibomcha Singh	Boxing
2011	Devender Kumar Rathore	Gymnastics
2011	Kuntal Kumar Roy	Athletics
2011	Ramphal	Wrestling
2011	Inukurthi Venkateshwara Roy	Boxing
2011	Rajinder Singh Jr.	Hockey
2012	Jasvinder Singh Bhatia	Athletics
2012	Sunil Dabas	Kabaddi
2012	B. I. Fernandez	Boxing
2012	Bhawani Mukherjee	Table Tennis
2012	Virender Poonia	Athletics
2012	Satyapal Singh	Athletics
2012	Harendra Singh	Hockey
2012	Yashvir Singh	Wrestling
2013	Purnima Mahato	Archery
2013	Narender Singh Saini	Hockey
2013	Mahavir Singh	Boxing
2013	Raj Singh	Wrestling
2013	K. P. Thomas	Athletics
2014	Gurcharan Gogi	Judo
2014	Jose Jacob	Rowing
2014	N. Lingappa	Athletics
2014	Ganapathy Manoharan	Boxing
2014	Mahabir Prasad	Wrestling
2015	Nihar Ameen	Swimming
2015	Anoop Singh	Wrestling
2015	Harbans Singh	Athletics
2015	Naval Singh	Athletics

2015	Swatantar Raj Singh	Boxing
2016	Sagar Mal Dhayal	Boxing
2016	S. Pradeep Kumar	Swimming
2016	Bishweshwar Nandi	Gymnastics
2016	Mahavir Singh Phogat	Wrestling
2016	Nagapuri Ramesh	Athletics
2016	Rajkumar Sharma	Cricket
2017	R. Gandhi	Athletics
2017	Heera Nand Kataria	Kabaddi
2017	G. S. S. V. Prasad	Badminton
2017	Brij Bhushan Mohanty	Boxing
2017	P. A. Raphel	Hockey
2017	Sanjoy Chakraverty	Shooting
2017	Roshan Lal	Wrestling

Visit our Website



www.amkresourceinfo.com

-----JOIN US by CLICK here-----









Important Links in our Website

A M K – Free E Resources

http://amkresourceinfo.com/free-e-resources/

Daily Newspapers : http://amkresourceinfo.com/daily-newspapers/

Job Notifications: http://amkresourceinfo.com/job-notifications/

E Books: http://amkresourceinfo.com/e-books-2/

E Magazines : http://amkresourceinfo.com/e-magazines-2/

Online Buy Books: http://amkresourceinfo.com/online-buy-books/

RRB – Group D: http://amkresourceinfo.com/rrb-group-d/

And many more...

Keep visiting for more updates

"Your Success, Our Motto"